Picture
In Orlando, Florida, young adults are on a mission to leave their mark. It may not necessarily be a passion, but it’s truly an effort to a road of success. In our very own backyard, the University of Central Florida, I had the pleasure of sitting down with the infamous Marcel Lilavois Jr. Lilavois is one of the creators for UndeRatedMindz, a young people’s clothing line, launched during the summer of 2011.

Q: I’ve seen you around campus plenty of times. Where are you from? What brought you to Orlando? 
A: I’m originally from Queens, New York. I moved to St. Port Lucie, FL in 2005; that’s where I went to high school. I came to Orlando and went to Seminole State College. I switched to UCF in 2010.

Q: Since you've moved down here, how would you describe your taste in fashion?
A: My taste in fashion is really varied. I like a little bit of everything and I’m capable of making anything work. Sometimes I’ll go in my closet and pull out something—granted if it still fits me (laughs)—I’ll pull out something from way back and make it new. So, it really depends on the setting, but I’m crazy about my fashion. I do whatever I want.

Q: Hence you being from up North, what would you consider your favorite season when it comes to dressing up? I can probably guess this one.
A: Winter.
Q: Winter! Yes, I was on the ball. I prefer winter, too.
A: Most definitely. You get more to work with. There are layers and then, there’s the big comfy stuff.
Q: (laughs) I know what you mean. Since winter is influential in how you dress, who influences you as the individual you are today? Who inspires you?
A: Naturally, my parents inspire me. They always motivate me to do the best I can in life. So, that’s first and foremost. On the other hand, when you look on the broader scale, I can’t say one person, but it’s the people out there making a difference in the world, and finding creative ways to make a difference and a change—ways to improve everybody else.
Picture
Q: What sets your brand apart from others?
A: What sets UndeRatedMindz apart from others is that we’re not—we are a clothing line at the end of the day, but that’s not what we had in mind when we started it. Although, my partners and I are all fashion-oriented people and take a great deal of pride in fashion, we started as a way to become a more positive influence in our friends and other generations, such as the people around us. I think that’s what really sets us apart. Also, every portion of a sale that we make goes to scholarship funding named UndeRatedMindz and it’s for college students. We primarily made it for high school students who—besides FAFSA—didn’t necessarily have an opportunity to afford college or students whose parents that make enough, but still didn’t qualify for financial aid. We really design it for high school students who truly want to move on and want to advance in their education. That’s where we stand. So yes, we are a clothing line, but at the end of the day, we are service-oriented and dedicated to improving our community.

Q: I’ve realized that you’ve been saying “we” when you talk of UndeRatedMindz.
A: Around the University of Central Florida, everyone thinks I am primarily the founder but while I am one of the founders, the credit really goes to Dion Moore, including a friend of mine, Majestic Steele in Queens. That’s where we created the logo and from there, things got crazy. They’re the one that came up with the logo and decided to do something different, such as a clothing line. My role in the entire aspect is more visionary. I really saw the opportunity to help the community, especially on a college campus by spreading the name, as well as what we stand for. However, when it comes to Florida, anyone can call me the president of operations. I handle everything here, but in terms of the inception of UndeRatedMindz, most of the credit goes to Dion Moore. He’s the CEO.

Q: And as for the logo? What does it represent? 
A: A lot of people look at it and thinks it’s a robot. I’ve heard so many things, such as a microwave.
Q: (hysterically laughing) I can kind of see it, or maybe the brave little toaster.
A: (laughs) I’ve heard it all, but what it actually represents is an animated television. The little box is a television. We animated it because, at least for our generation, the television is the most important tool of influence.  Besides social networking and things of that nature, when something is occurring on television—being really popular—it’s killing social networks. We felt as if the TV inspired most of what we do now and the people we see on TV, so we wanted to change that. We wanted to bring the new sign of influence to something more positive that we can control better. Animated television reflects the fact we’re all animated people and we’re going to show our creativity on how to become a positive influence.

Q: So you’re basically telling me that’s what UndeRatedMindz means in terms of being a positive influence in the community? Was UndeRatedMindz called something else prior to what it is called today? Share its history.
A: The reason we came up with the name UndeRatedMindz is because we feel that as an entire generation, we are overlooked. In addition, the older generations feel that we are incapable in a sense. We wanted to represent the thinkers and the dreamers of our age. Regardless of what others say and think, we are all striving for the best. It’s definitely the beginning as far as what it will stay as. As individuals, we all do our own thing. In terms of the community, we try to help everyone as much as we can. This is our first collective effort in order to make a difference or a way to portray another level of helping. Our potential is endless. 

Q: I love how passionate you are when you talk about UndeRatedMindz. Is creating clothes your passion for the future as well?
A: Well, creating clothes isn’t necessarily my passion. My passion lies in helping. Besides UndeRatedMindz, most of what I do, I do for my family and my friends, as well as the people around me because at the end of the day, it’s not really about ourselves as individuals. It’s what we can do for one another.
Q: I like that mindset.
A: (smiles) That’s definitely what motivates me. If I did have an actual passion, that I could possibly define outright, it would be to help. Specifically, I would like to help my generation and the generations that come afterwards because they need it the most. I also have a passion for family. That is my hope for UndeRatedMindz.

Q: Well, since this isn’t considered a career move, what are you going to school for?
A: I am currently a legal studies major with a criminal justice minor. I’m going to be an attorney. I graduate this May and I’ll be looking to start law school sometime next year in New York. UndeRatedMindz isn’t a career move, but we have already started making a huge impact in our communities. I’m definitely hoping that it’ll grow. I want to see this get as big as it possibly can and help as many people as we possibly can.

Q: (smiles) Well, it’s certainly made an impact on the students that walk this campus. I cannot wait to see what’s in store for UndeRatedMindz. If someone were to be interested in making a purchase, how can they contact you?
A: Well, we did have a website, but it was taken down because we wanted to focus primarily on social networks, such as Facebook, Twitter, and especially Instagram. For the market that we are trying to reach, that’s where they mainly are. What’s better than a website is seeing what I post on Instagram everyday rather than having that choice to go to our website. You’re going to have to see us no matter what. As it stands right now, if you see anything you like, you can ‘like” a picture or comment, send you my number, then link up. 
Picture
Q: Do you mind providing providing a Twitter or Instagram?
A: Matter of fact, I’m going to shout out a few. (laughs) My Instgram is @solid_asarock. The meaning of that, you know, is history. (laughs) But anyway, we will be creating an official UndeRatedMindz Instagram. Also, because sales have been increasing, and there’s just a lot more volume, we’re going to go back to having a website, which should be poppin’ in a couple of weeks. We’re still going to be primarily making moves though social networking. It makes us more interactive with everyone and gives us the chance to see what everyone likes or wants. Also, if anyone wants to see styles that we have to offer without going to my page, anyone can search ‘hashtag’ UndeRatedMindz (for example, #UndeRatedMindz) on Instagram, which provides over 200 photos in a variety of colors. Also, Dion Moore’s page is @meanerbdf_urm. He has exclusive ones that are only available in New York. Anyone should definitely check him out. Styles do vary by location. I primarily handle stuff here while he handles it there.

Q: It’s great that you have a team behind you. It’s like everyone is on the same page in order to make a difference for the community. How did you meet Dion Moore by the way?
A:  Well, he lived across the street from me since I was about 3. That’s like my brother from another mother; we’re best friends. When I left New York in either 2004 or 2005, we kept in contact over the years. And he’s into a lot of things, such as music and photography. He’s honestly the creative soul when it comes to UndeRatedMindz. We all have a sense of passion for our community, but we all have different aspects that we bring into this. With a few of my extracurricular activities, like the National Black Law Association, the Caribbean Student Association, and the Black Student Union, I can reach a lot more people. I’m also the Awareness Director of the Black Student Union. I’m able to bring in the educational ties. But all of the creative styles that you see, such as the logos and the colors, it’s all Dion. I can’t even take his credit. If it wasn’t for him, I wouldn’t have the authority that I have with UndeRatedMindz. I wouldn’t be able to expand it how I would like to expand it. He’s definitely the person that deserves majority of the credit. 

Q: Did you ever think that it was going to get this big?
A: No. I swear it just happened out of nowhere. We didn’t even make shirts at the time. It was just a thought. When I got back to Florida, Dion called me asking for my address. A few days later, I received a box in the mail and there were two shirts. One was for my cousin and me. Those were the very first UndeRatedMindz shirts. From there, I had friends from Florida telling me how much they liked them. They were asking me how could they get one and it blew up from there.
Picture
Q: Well, two years later, I say you all outdid yourselves with UndeRatedMindz. What’s your next move for 2013?
A: In terms of UndeRatedMindz, we will continue to expand. We’re working on putting on a few fashion shows. It’s not definite, but we’d like to put on a fashion show. The proceeds would go to more scholarships and charitable efforts. Also, look out for an UndeRatedMindz scholarship presented to a UCF student later in the semester. For myself, I’m ready to graduate and get this degree. 

Q: Any last shout outs you’d like to make?
A: (laughs) Well, sure. I’m just going to shout out everybody on their grind that’s trying to do something productive with their lives. This is for the ones that want to better their selves by getting a good education because that’s the number one thing. Honestly, all of the problems in society can be solved by having an education. There should be less ignorance and more improvements. I’d like to shout out all of the movers and shakers.
Q: (laughs) I’m stealing that.
A: (laughs) I’d like to shout out my cousins Paul Baccas, Ikola Baccas, Jonathan Pierre-Louis; the ones that have been really trying to spread the name of UndeRatedMindz, the message, as well as what we’re trying to accomplish.
Q: (smiles) And I wish nothing, but the very best for UndeRatedMindz.
A: I appreciate it, truly.


Special thanks to the models Jonathan Pierre-Louis, Paul Baccas Jr, Marcel Lilavois Jr & Ikola Baccas 




Leave a Reply.